Energy Improvement Corporation

The Mission

The overarching goal of the Energy Improvement Corp is to save money and energy, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions in New York State, by enabling energy related improvements that meet or exceed state standards through innovative community based outreach and marketing efforts. In addition, it will be a purpose of the Corporation to facilitate and finance qualified energy efficiency improvement projects and renewable energy system projects for residents, organizations, institutions and businesses in participating municipalities in New York while operating in a financially self sufficient manner.


Meetings are held frequently at the Town of Bedford's 425 Cherry St. offices. Check the Meeting Schedule link on the left sidebar (under the "About EIC" heading) for details on upcoming meetings.


If you are a governmental organization interested in becoming a member of the EIC, please click here to review this 2-page overview document and view the Sample Community Member 'Request to Join EIC' letter.

** Announcement **

Energy Improvement Corporation (EIC), a New York not-for-profit local development corporation that works with its member municipalities across the state to reduce energy waste and promote renewable energy sources, announced a significant milestone in its development with the election on April 2nd of a new board consisting solely of municipal leaders.  EIC members elected the following leaders to its Board: Abraham Zambrano, Village Manager of Croton-on Hudson; Chris Burdick, Supervisor of the Town of Bedford; Susanne Donnelly, Supervisor of the Town of Ossining; Paul Feiner, Supervisor of Town Greenburgh; Michael Genito, Commissioner of Finance and Budget Director of the City of White Plains; Peter Parsons, Supervisor of the Town of Lewisboro; Charles Strome, City Manager of New Rochelle. Abraham Zambrano was elected Chair of the Board.
The new Board also elected the following officers:  Mark Thielking as Executive Director; Kathryn Hoenig as VP and Chief Operating Officer; Daniel Killourhy as Treasurer; and Kim Kowalski as Secretary.
Started locally with a handful of grassroots volunteers and one employee in 2011, EIC has grown to 16 municipal members and a staff of 13 managing four programs: Energize NY (PACE) Finance, Energize NY Residential, Energize NY Commercial and Solarize Westchester. EIC is working with multiple municipalities and counties across NY State to become members in 2015.

In Photo, L to R: Chris Burdick, Supervisor, Town of Bedford; Michael Genito, Commissioner of Finance & Budget Director, White Plains; Chuck Strome, City Manager, City of New Rochelle; Abe Zambrano, Croton-on-Hudson Village Manager; Susanne Donnelly, Supervisor, Town of Ossining; Peter Parsons, Supervisor, Town of Lewisboro.